

THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE INDEPENDENCE HOUSING

AUTHORITY convened in a Regular Session/Open Meeting at 210 S. Pleasant St. – Basement Community Room, Independence, MO 64055 on February 18, 2020.

Board Chairperson Beth Franklin presided.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order by Board Chairperson Beth Franklin at 4:01 PM

Roll Call: The following Commissioners were present:

Commissioner Beth Franklin Commissioner Christina Leakey

Commissioner Lynn Rose

Commissioner Nanette Willoughby

Commissioners Excused:

Commissioner Herb Bankston

Others present:

HR/Accounting Heather Figley

READING AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 21, 2020 meeting were discussed and a motion to accept and file for audit was made by Commissioner Willoughby, seconded by Commissioner Leakey. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. The motion to accept the prior month minutes was approved with majority vote at 4:02 pm CST.

PUBLIC COMMENTS FROM THE FLOOR

No Comments from the public.



REVIEW OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

January 2020 unaudited financial statements were made available via email and discussed during the meeting. No questions about the financials were asked after a summary was given by the Secretary. A motion to accept the unaudited financial reports for January 2020 was made by Commissioner Willoughby and seconded by Commissioner Rose. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. The motion to accept the unaudited financial reports for January 2020 were approved with majority vote at 4:11 pm CST.

SECRETARY'S REPORT

Secretary's Report was presented to the board with a general operations sections report along with the Capital Fund Grant program report and discussed both during this time. A summary of each item on the Secretary's Report was sent out prior to the board meeting and then discussed. Statistics for LIPH and Section 8 programs for January 2020 were given out and summarized. A motion to approve the Secretary's Report into the Minutes was made by Commissioner Rose and seconded by Commissioner Leakey. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. The Secretary's Report was approved by majority vote at 4:13 pm CST.

NEW BUSINESS

A. Resolution No. 1478 – Approval of Revised 2020 Section 8 Utility Allowances

Administration explained to the Board that every 5 years a baseline for Utility Allowances has to be obtained either by Third-Party or In-House and that was completed in 2019. It was also explained that each year in between the utility allowances have to be reviewed either by Third-Party or In-House. We did a bid process in 2019 for Utility Allowance studies and will continue with the same company until 2024 when we will bid it out again. After final discussion, Commissioner Rose made the motion for approval and Commissioner Willoughby seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1478 was approved by majority vote at 4:16 pm CST.



B. Resolution No. 1479 – Approval of Revised 2020 LIPH Utility Allowances

Administration explained to the Board that every 5 years a baseline for Utility Allowances has to be obtained either by Third-Party or In-House and that was completed in 2019. It was also explained that each year in between the utility allowances have to be reviewed either by Third-Party or In-House. We did a bid process in 2019 for Utility Allowance studies and will continue with the same company until 2024 when we will bid it out again. After final discussion, Commissioner Willoughby made the motion for approval and Commissioner Leakey seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1479 was approved by majority vote at 4:18 pm CST.

C. Resolution No. 1480 – Approval of Bad Debt Write-Off for August 2019 – December 2019

Administration explained that each year, we have to write-off any bad debt prior to the end of the FYE so that it does not count against us with HUD's FDS submission. It was also explained that even though we are writing this off on our books to clean it up, it does not mean that the debt is not owed by the tenants that owe it. They still have to pay this debt before they can utilize Subsidized Housing again. After final discussion, Commissioner Leakey made the motion for approval and Commissioner Rose seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1480 was approved by majority vote at 4:21 pm CST.



D. Resolution No. 1481 – Approval of Name for IHA Non-Profit: "P.R.I.D.E. of Independence"

Administration discussed the anticipation of the creation of a Non-Profit for the Housing Authority and wanted to approve a name that will be attempted to be obtained for it when the application is completed. After final discussion, Commissioner Willoughby made the motion and Commissioner Rose seconded. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Resolution No. 1481 was approved by majority vote at 4:24 pm

NON-AGENDA ITEMS FROM THE BOARD – None

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Franklin requested a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Leakey moved for approval and Commissioner Rose seconded the motion. Votes were given as follows: Commissioner Franklin – Aye; Commissioner Willoughby – Aye; Commissioner Leakey – Aye; Commissioner Rose – Aye; Commissioner Bankston – Not Present. Adjournment was approved by majority vote at 4:28 pm CST.

Secretary	Presiding Office
Secretary	Tresiding Officer